System Restore: Do’s and Don’ts (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Read First] >> Tips and general information



Message


Brandy redux -> System Restore: Do’s and Don’ts (6/5/2008 9:34:14 PM)

You don’t have to be a Harry Potter fan to appreciate the hazards of time travel. Here are some to be aware of:

* If you create a new user account and then use System Restore to roll back your system configuration to a point before the new account was created, the new user will no longer be able to log on, and you will receive no warning. (The good news is that the new user’s documents will be intact.)

* System Restore does not uninstall programs, although it does remove executable files and DLLs. And, removing only executable files and DLLs will leave a lot of orphaned program shortcuts and files behind.

To avoid having orphaned program shortcuts and files, make a note of any programs that you installed after the date of the restore point you’re about to roll back to. Uninstall those programs in the normal manner before running the restore operation. If you want to continue using those programs, reinstall them after the restore is complete.

* Any changes made to your system configuration using the Windows Recovery Environment are not monitored by System Protection. This can produce unintended consequences if you make major changes to system files and then roll back your system configuration with System Restore.

* Although you can restore your system to a previous configuration from Safe Mode, you cannot create a new restore point in Safe Mode. As a result, you cannot undo a restore operation that you perform in Safe Mode. If possible, you should always start Windows normally to perform a restore operation.




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4
0.546875