Encore Forums Encore Forums

Knowledgebase  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

Error: An Older Version Has Been Detected on Your Computer

 
Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Product Forums] >> [Productivity Software] >> [Calendar Creator] >> CC Tech Tips >> Error: An Older Version Has Been Detected on Your Computer Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Error: An Older Version Has Been Detected on Your Computer - 8/17/2010 7:35:14 PM   
Brandy redux


Posts: 2376
Joined: 2/7/2007
Status: offline
Problem

While attempting to install a Broderbund program, you receive an error message similar to this one:

"An older version of {the name of the program you were trying to install} has been detected on your computer. To complete the installation of this version, please uninstall your older version before you continue."

Solution

Complete the procedures below beginning with the Uninstalling the Previous Version heading below.

If the previous version has already been uninstalled using Add or Remove Programs (for WinXP) or Programs and Features (for WinVista or Windows 7) or was manually uninstalled, start with the procedure under the Deleting the Registry Key Value heading below.

NOTE: Before doing ANY computer maintenance on WinXP or WinVista or Windows 7 (and, even on Win2000), it is EXTREMELY important to make sure you are logged onto the computer with a Computer Administrator account (and NOT with a Limited User Account).

If you don't know whether or not your normal account is an Administrator account, do this:

A. If you don't know your user name, click on 'Start'. Then, look for your user name at the top or bottom of the Start menu.

B. Go to 'Control Panel', then open 'User Accounts'.

C. When the 'User Accounts' window opens, look under your user name. If you DO NOT see the word 'Administrator' under your user name, you should NOT attempt to install any software or perform any computer maintenance. Instead, you should either log onto the computer with a Computer Administrator account or find someone who can log onto your computer with an Administrator account and ask them for assistance.

Uninstalling the Previous Version

1. Close all programs and windows and return to the desktop.

2. Go to Control Panel, then select 'Add or Remove Programs' (for WinXP) or 'Programs and Features' (for WinVista & Windows 7).

3. Locate the previous version in the list of installed software, then click on it once to select it.

4. Select 'Change/Remove' (for WinXP) or 'Uninstall' (for WinVista & Windows 7). Follow the directions for uninstalling the program.

5. Click 'No to All' if asked whether to delete Shared Files.

6. After the program has been removed, close all open windows and return to the desktop.

7. Click on this link

'Clean' Install on Win98/Me/XP/2000/Vista/Win7

then follow the directions in that FAQ for performing a 'clean' install of the program which generated the original error message.

Note: If the error message continues to occur, follow the procedure below for backing up the Windows® Registry and deleting the registry key value which is causing the error message.

Deleting the Registry Key Value

WARNING: USE EXTREME CAUTION!

The steps below describe editing the Windows® Registry. It is extremely important to complete the following instructions exactly as presented, starting with Step 1.

1. Close all programs and return to the desktop.

2. For WinXP, click Start, select 'Run', type regedit into the 'Open:' box.

For WinVista & Windows 7, hold down the 'Windows' key, press R, then type regedit into the 'Open:' box.

3. Click OK. The Registry Editor will open.

Note: 5 closed folders should appear. If not, click the minus ( - ) signs for WinXP (or the downward pointing right arrows for WinVista and Windows 7) next to all expanded folders until only 5 closed folders are displayed - with either a plus ( + ) sign or a right arrow next to each folder.

4. Select 'File' in the menu bar then select 'Export' in the menu that drops down.

5. When the 'Export Registry File' window opens, click on 'Desktop' on the left side of the window.

6. Type BACKUP in the 'File name:' field.

7. Click on 'Save'. This will place a BACKUP.REG file on the desktop.

Note: Always create a backup of the registry before any type of changes in the Registry are made.

8. Click the plus ( + ) sign or the right arrow next to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE (for WinXP) or HKEY_CURRENT_USER (for WinVista & Windows 7) folder to expand it.

9. Click the plus ( + ) sign or the right arrow next to the SOFTWARE folder to expand it.

10. Click the plus ( + ) sign or the right arrow next to the 'Broderbund Software' folder to expand it.

11. Click the plus ( + ) sign or the right arrow next to the 'Print' folder to expand it.

12. Click the folder for the program which matches the name of the Broderbund software which you were trying to install (i.e. The Print Shop, PrintMaster, Calendar Creator, etc.).

13. Select 'Edit' in the menu bar, then click on 'Delete' in the menu that drops down.

14. When the 'Confirm Key Delete' window opens, click Yes when asked: "Are you sure you want to delete this key?"

15. Close all windows and return to the desktop.

16. Restart the computer.

17. After the computer has restarted, click on this link

'Clean' Install on Win98/Me/XP/2000/Vista/Win7

then follow the directions in that FAQ for performing a 'clean' install of the program you were trying to install when you received the original error message.

Note: The backup of the Registry (Backup.reg) that was created in Steps 4-7 above will be located on the desktop. This file should be accessed ONLY if the changes you made to the registry did not solve the problem and you want to restore the Windows® Registry to the time the backup was created.

That Backup.reg file should be deleted as soon as it is determined that the problem has been fixed - because double-clicking that Backup.reg file on the desktop will start the process which will restore the Registry and erase all changes to the Registry that you made after you backed up the registry. So, you DO NOT want to double-click on that file unless you are absolutely certain that you want to erase those changes.

< Message edited by Brandy redux -- 5/25/2012 2:16:21 PM >


_____________________________

For More Help:
Click on the FAQ link at the top of this page
Then, click on the All FAQ's button on the next page

To contact me by email, please send your message to pine_97@yahoo.com
Post #: 1
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Product Forums] >> [Productivity Software] >> [Calendar Creator] >> CC Tech Tips >> Error: An Older Version Has Been Detected on Your Computer Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Please Note: In order to post a message on the forums, you will need to become an Encore Forum Member. Click on the Register link on the top of this page and follow the instructions to become an Encore Forum Member.

If you are a new member and need help using these forums, please click on the FAQ link at the top of this page.

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4

0.809