Encore Forums Encore Forums

Knowledgebase  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

saving in my projects

 
Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Product Forums] >> [Productivity Software] >> [The Print Shop 23.1 and older] >> PS General functionality >> saving in my projects Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
saving in my projects - 10/17/2010 7:47:51 AM   
Vel

 

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/17/2008
Status: offline
Hi,
I have 2 computers. Windows XP and Windows 7. Print Shop version 22. When I save any type of projects - the My Documents window comes up by default and I save there. In the past the default window was always My Projects. I would open the P. Shop and on the left hand side would click open and all of them would be there.
It isn't a big deal I guess on the My Doc but I would like to know what happened to the other window. It just seemed like a more sensible way to see everthing I have saved.

Thanks for any info is someone has time.

Vel
Post #: 1
RE: saving in my projects - 10/17/2010 11:50:53 AM   
Brandy redux


Posts: 2376
Joined: 2/7/2007
Status: offline
Hi Vel,

The default window is My Projects for all Operating Systems earlier than WinXP because that's the way Print Shop 22 was designed.

The default window is My Documents for WinXP and all later Operating Systems because that's the way those Operating Systems are designed.

It is much better to have your projects saved in the My Documents folder - because, when projects are saved in My Documents, those projects will not be uninstalled if Print Shop 22 is uninstalled.

With the earlier Operating Systems, when the projects are saved in My Projects, all projects will be uninstalled if Print Shop 22 is uninstalled. And, this is true for all versions of Print Shop that were designed before WinXP was designed.

It isn't absolutely necessary to save your projects in My Documents. You could create a subfolder in My Documents, then move all of the saved documents into the new folder. Then, if you were ever to upgrade to Print Shop 23, the first time Print Shop 23 was opened it would see your saved projects in that subfolder. And, you would be asked if you wanted to import those projects into Print Shop 23.

However, you will want to keep in mind that if you do create a new subfolder then move your projects into that folder, you will not be able to open those Projects from the Project Gallery until you rebuild the Project Gallery files, as is described in this pinned item:

http://forums.encoreusa.com/tm.asp?m=40155

That is because Print Shop expects projects to always remain in the same folder in which they were originally saved.

< Message edited by Brandy redux -- 10/17/2010 3:16:45 PM >


_____________________________

For More Help:
Click on the FAQ link at the top of this page
Then, click on the All FAQ's button on the next page

To contact me by email, please send your message to pine_97@yahoo.com

(in reply to Vel)
Post #: 2
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Product Forums] >> [Productivity Software] >> [The Print Shop 23.1 and older] >> PS General functionality >> saving in my projects Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Please Note: In order to post a message on the forums, you will need to become an Encore Forum Member. Click on the Register link on the top of this page and follow the instructions to become an Encore Forum Member.

If you are a new member and need help using these forums, please click on the FAQ link at the top of this page.

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4

0.020